Family Pasta Night

Our next casual family dinner in the CCA is on 12 April and takes us to Italy.

We'll offer a tempting selection of authentic dishes including: Antipasto & Salami Plate; Linguini with Crabmeat, Prawns, Garlic & Chilli; Four Cheese Baked Potato Gnocchi; Pappardelle with Braised Duck & Tomato Ragu; Penne alla Carbonara and Spaghetti with Veal Meatballs in Tomato Ragu.
Book a table and bring the family!

Event details
Date:    Wednesday 12 April, 6.30pm
Venue: CCA
Cost:    $17-$27, per the menu on the night. 

Members book online here

Raid the cellar!

Join us on 28 April when Chef will prepare a themed dégustation menu and you may select from a selection of magnificent hand-picked wines - at take away prices or less!

The proposed wine list includes Champagne & Sparkling, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir.


The menu comprises:
Canapé - Comté Gougères 
Entrée - Smoked Ham Hock & Pork Terrine, Pickled Grapes, Orange Relish
Main - Roast Confit Duck Leg, Wild Mushroom Jus, Pomme Purée, Asparagus
Cheese Course - Le Délice de Bourgogne, Fig Jam, French Baguette
Dessert - Rigodon, traditional Bourgogne brioche pudding, Apple Purée, Cinnamon Cream

Bon appétit!

Event details
Date: Friday 28 April
Time: 6.30pm for 7pm
Venue: Carabella Room
Dress: Lounge Suits
Cost: $69 for dégustation menu, wines at take away prices.



Saturday Racing 25 March

With the weather behaving for most of the day, it was a nice day out on the water for competitors - a pleasant change compared to previous wet and miserable weeks. Wind conditions on the day were light to medium in strength and predominantly from the North East once it filled in.

Divisions were present in strong numbers making the most of the generally dry conditions. The Dragons were competing for the Archie Robertson Trophy and Jim Hawkins and Andrew Howe’s ‘Ascalon’ was the winner; congratulations! The rest of racing consisted of the divisions' usual Saturday series and the Mini B regatta for the Ynglings and Sports Boats.


Podium Results- 25 March


Division 1

  1. Jackie Clare – Geoff Davidson  
  2. Sydney – Charles Curran
  3. Willyama – Barron / Stanley / Sanlorenzo  

Division 2

  1. Can Can – Roman Tarnawsky
  2. Ambitious – David Matthews
  3. Alouette – John Waring

Division 3

  1. Til The Fat Lady Sings – David Smith
  2. Windsong 2 – John Vickery
  3. Kirsten II – Ken Chase / John Bowman


  1. Ascalon – Jim Hawkins / Andrew Howe
  2. Intrigue – Gavin Moss


  1. Saints III – Bruce Hilliard / M Rosandic
  2. Quay Largo – Anthony Kongats
  3. Synergy – Richard Chapman / Richard Lawson




  1. Shining Star – Elyse Guevara-Rattray – 6.5 points
  2. Evie – Karyn Gojnich – 10 points
  3. Yertle – Jan Newland / Warrick Back – 10.5 points

Sports boats

  1.  Troppo – Andrew Pearce – 7 points
  2. James – Tim Ryan – 8 points
  3. Reo Speedwagon – Andrew York – 9 points


View full results here 




Lasers and Optis wrap it up - Winter on its way

With Daylight Saving due to end this weekend (2 Apr), the clocks will ‘fall’ back one hour on Sunday morning and our RSYS Laser and Optimist sailors will be keen to wrap up their Spring/Summer racing campaigns on a high note and possibly their respective Class Pointscores too. View the current pointscore standings – here

After a busy fortnight of ‘away’ regattas, where the Lasers had their Metropolitan Championship at the Double Bay Sailing Club (18/19 Mar) and the Optimists their State Championship at the South Lake Macquarie Amateur Sailing Club (25/26 Mar), the final round of the RSYS Dinghy Championship Racing Series (Club Championship) is scheduled for this Sunday, with a race briefing at 11.30am and racing set to get underway at 1.00pm.

It’s been tight all season through the Club Championship, and with three races scheduled for the day, the final pointscore results will be decided this weekend. Why not come down to the Club with a picnic blanket and watch the action from the grass area, as the forecasted Sou' Easterly breeze puts the course configuration right in front of the Club – Stadium Racing Style!

Furthermore, the top tip from this coming weekend’s Race Committee; “Pack your sailing gear the night before, change your clocks to go back an hour before jumping into bed, then enjoy the extra hour's sleep that you’ll get in the morning!”

Once the races are run and the winners declared, the Annual Prize Giving will be held at the Club, scheduled for the evening of Friday 19th May. With typical Squadron panache, a massive buffet including dessert will be on offer – tickets are now available and on sale!

With Winter just around the corner, the sailing action is set to continue through the cooler months. The Notice of Race, Sailing Instructions and Online Entry registrations are now available for those keen to race their Lasers and Optimists in Winter. Club racing will be conducted once a month and will shift to the mornings to take advantage of the early morning winter breeze. Sailors and their families will also be welcomed and encouraged to get together for lunch in the CCA, after the completion of each days racing.

Additionally, for those sailors and their parents interested in the upcoming Winter training program for the Green Fleet, Optimist Fleet and Laser Fleets, an information evening is now scheduled for Thursday 6th April (6.30pm). On hand during the evening will be representatives from the RSYS Sailing Office and the Coaching Staff, to explain the program and give sailors the opportunity to set themselves winter training goals, in preparation for the following Spring/Summer racing and regatta season.

It might just be the end of the warmer weather and now Daylight Saving too, but an active Winter Sailing Program is surely the tonic to heat up and brighten up your Sundays over the coming colder months.

For further information, click on the links below;

Annual Prize Giving – Book Tickets now for the Youth Annual Prize Giving, Friday 19th May 2017

Club Dinghy Racing – Results, Winter Notice of Race, Winter Sailing Instructions, Winter Entries

Youth Winter Training – Winter Green Fleet, Winter Optimist Fleet, Winter Laser Fleet


Photos by Chris Stannage and Michael Hansen

'Clouds' Badham addresses packed house

The Cruising Division was delighted to host guest speaker Roger ‘Clouds’ Badham on Wednesday 22 March. He addressed a packed house, despite the inclement weather!

He began in the 70s forecasting by hand analysis and communicating over HF radio, and nowadays, keeps watch over the current Volvo Round The World racing with vast amounts of information at his disposal. He also enjoys working with the New Zealand Americas Cup team. 


Photos by Richard Lawson: top: Clouds left, John Taylor right; below: RTW yacht tracking

Read the full report here