RSYS Sailing Survey 2018

We have come to the end of another busy sailing season and in preparation for next season we would appreciate your input to sailing activities at RSYS.  We have prepared a short survey that should take no more than 10 minutes of your time to complete.

We would like to hear from boat owners and crew, both RSYS members and non-members and would appreciate your response by Thursday 26 April.

The survey is anonymous however all survey respondents that choose to leave their contact details at the end of the survey will go into a draw to receive dinner for two at the club up to the value of $250. 


We have also designed a survey for our Tuesday Twilight community

Your feedback will assist in future planning of the Club's sailing activities.
Yours in sailing,
Christian Brook and RSYS Sailing Committee

Youth Sailors compete in Europe

Congratulations to the RSYS sailors who competed in the European championships last week.

In the Radials, Campbell Patton (pictured above) had a terrific event in Hungary finishing 3rd out of 154 boats. This has been a huge past few weeks as just a week ago he qualified to represent Bermuda at the Youth Worlds in Texas later in the year.

The 4.7s Europeans were held in Greece, and RSYS was well represented with Brooke Wilson finishing 11th, Sylvie Stannage 20th and Mina Ferguson 25th in a fleet of 104 boats. In the men's fleet, Boston Cortis did a great job finishing 32nd from 200 entries.

RSYS Members also participated in the presitgous Princess Sophia Trophy in Palma Majorca last week, with over 1200 Olympic class sailors competing in one of the largest events on the circuit. Finn Alexander led the Laser Mens Open fleet after two days and finished very credibly in tough conditions against a number of Olympic Medalists.

We will provide updates throughout the year of some of the RSYS sailors on the Olympic circuit, as August will see the first opportunity for countries to earn qualification to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
Back at home, several of our Youth sailors made the NSW Youth Sailing team in numerous classes. RSYS will be represented in the 4.7s by Sylvie Stannage, Mina Ferguson, Brooke Wilson, Daniel Costandi and Evie Saunders (trial). In Laser Radials by Campbell Patton, Maddie O’Shea, Zac West, Boston Cortis and Tom Green. In Windsurfers by Vaughn O’Shea and in Nacra 15 by Will Cooley. This is a great achievement by all who have made the squads.

An Etchells shines brightest in the Varuna Trophy

Ten of our RSYS champion yachts and sailors came together to challenge for the Varuna Trophy. This challenge is by invitation only and the invitees are the top place getters in RSYS various classes and divisions. This makes for very exciting and competitive racing.  

Winds on Saturday 14 April were strong and shifty, which made racing demanding but still a lot of fun, according to the sailors.

The winner of the 2018 Varuna Trophy is the RSYS flagged Etchells Roué skippered by Mike Morris and crewed by David Brittain on mainsheet and bowman Matthew Seidel.

“This is a wonderful way to complete the season” said the winner Mike. When asked about his race strategy, he said it was quite simple: "Get in front of Malcolm Shaw and stay there!”  Congratulations to all on Roué for a great victory.
Second place went to another RSYS boat, the Sydney 60, aptly named Sydney and skippered by David Kellett and Charles Curran. The third placed yacht was the Etchells Plan A skippered by Andrew Patterson and sailing under the CYCA burgee. Congratulations to these crews as well.

A huge thank you to all competing champion yachts and we are looking forward to even greater numbers next year.

View the results here

Yngling 50th Anniversary Celebration


Join us to celebrate 50 years of sailing in the International Yngling Class at the RSYS on Sunday 27 May.

Relive Yngling history via our 'sailors from the couch' covering the Early Days, Wittey Era, Olympic Era and the Present Day. 

Discover Sailing
Time: 10am to 12:30pm
A short sail (30 - 60 minutes) on an Yngling with experienced Yngling Sailors. No charge but you must register via Try Booking system below.
Time: 1:00pm
Venue: The Dining Room and Verandah
Graze from a selection of international foods from the countries where Ynglings are sailed
Cost: $50pp (drinks not included - available from the bar)

For queries, please contact Gary Wogas 0424 999 047 or

Please book via this Trybooking link




Friday Twilight lucky winners

The Carabella Room was packed with sailors eager to win the Friday Twilight high participation lucky draw prize on 6 April. The presentation was made by Sarah Connell, group marketing manager for our generous sponsors Audi Alto Artarmon and Alto Land Rover.

Commodore Richard Chapman observed that the RSYS Friday Twilight Series was certainly one of the most popular on Sydney Harbour, having attracted 97 block entries plus several casual entries each week. 

"We could not run our Twilight racing without our dedicated team of volunteer race officials led by Wayne Hinchcliffe. They had some difficult moments spotting sail numbers particularly in southerly breezes, which seemed to blow many a Friday Twilight.  It is not unusual to have a dozen boats finishing within a two minute period, sometimes four and five abreast across the line. This is a tribute to John Maclurcan’s handicapping, but a race officer’s nightmare. I sincerely thank all of you, for your valuable time and effort and for giving up your Friday nights. Thank you also to the Careening Cove Anchorage staff, tender drivers and the Sailing Office team," he added.

The winner of the weekend for two at the Emirates 'One and Only Wolgan Valley' and a weekend in an Audi, Land Rover or Jaguar of their choice was Zeus, owned by Jim Dunstan (pictured above.) Congratulations!

The winners of the consolation prizes were:

An Audi Drive Day - Huligan, David Servi
A Jaguar Drive Day - Ostara, Glenn Richard
Degustation Cellar Dinner for six - Kookaburra, Richard Hammond

"Rain, Hail or Shine Prizes” were awarded to the two boats that competed in every race: 
Well Inclined, Brian McKean
Lively, Sophie Nelson & Marcus Stewart
Well done for your commitment and dedication!

The 2018-19 Friday Twilight series commences 12 October 2018 - see you then!