Paspaley Tuesday Twilight Winners

The capacity crowd cheered loudly when the inaugural Tuesday Twilights Inspiration Award was presented by Jan Williams to Genevieve Slattery at last night’s Ladies’ Twilights presentation. This award recognises women over 55 who have either started to sail later in life or returned to our sport after a hiatus. Those who nominated Genevieve, pictured above left, lauded her competitive yet calm demeanour and praised her enthusiastic mentoring of her crew. 

RSYS celebrated the 15th year of Ladies Tuesday Twilights sailed at our Club. RSYS Captain and Tuesday Twilights Co-ordinator Karyn Gojnich described it as a sensational season: 'We kicked off with a Networking Night in September, sailed three warm up nights in October (for those that needed a refresher after the winter break) and started the 12 race series in November, with six races before Christmas. There was great support for the two non-pointscore races in January before coming back to the six remaining pointscore races starting early February. Participation is up. We had 38 boats entered across three divisions with 34 of these racing regularly. There were more than 180 sailors on the water each week with at least 36 of these being graduates from the Club's Ladies of the Sea (LOTS) and Adult Keelboat programs.

'Thank you once again to Paspaley for supporting our series, their fourth with RSYS. I feel our partnership with Paspaley has contributed to the growth of our Ladies sailing and Tuesday Twilights community. It has provided unique and beautiful prizes for our winners, encouraged participation and a sense of community, and promoted enjoyment of our natural environment. We were delighted to welcome Chris Paspaley to present four pairs of Keshi stud earrings to the overall winners and an additional four pairs to the lucky draw winners. The allure of these beautiful pearls is manifest - this season, a record 28 of the 29 registered boats were eligible!' Karyn added.

Above - the delighted 'participation' recipients (pictured above) were L to R: Jackie Taylor (Allegro), Nikki O'Shea (Elliott 1) Sarah Bartels (Karma) and Sandy Lawson (Rapunzel). 


The Ladies Division non-spinnaker

Main Series - the Jan Rowed trophy

1st  Jill Hammond, Kookaburra
2nd Kristina Brenke, Gaia
3rd Jenny Farrell, Coco HYC17

Each skipper was presented with a pair of Paspaley pearl earrings.

Above - overall winners in the Ladies non-spinnaker division from Kookaburra were L to R: Nicolette Birkhold, Susie Weir, Millie Brown, Julie Clarke, Jill Hammond, joined by Chris Paspaley. 


The Ladies One Design Division spinnaker

Main Series - the Lady Helm trophy

1st Megan Howard, Mojo
2nd Sophie Hunt, Elliott 1
3rd Kim Ketelby and 'Ben’s Belles’, Elliott 3 

The winning boat was presented with a pair of Paspaley Pearl earings.

Above - Amanda Hicks (left) and Megan Howard (right) with the Lady Helm Trophy donor Joyce Warn (middle).


Trophy Series

Within the Tueseday Twilights we have a 'mini series' made up of three races, and these were sailed on December 11, February 12 and March 12. 

The Gypsy Moth IV trophy awarded in the Ladies non-spinnaker division

1st Jill Hammond, Kookaburra

The Bluebird trophy awarded in the Ladies One Design Spinnaker division

1st Megan Howard, Mojo

See the Trophy Series results here


The Open Division non-spinnaker

1st James Merrington, Mercier

See the full results here


The 2019/20 Tuesday Twilight series will commence on 12 November 2019. See you then!