RSYS third in NSW Youth Championship

Two RSYS Development Program teams participated in the Club Marine NSW Youth Match Racing Championship run and hosted by the CYCA from 5 - 6 August. The regatta attracted 10 teams from NSW, QLD and VIC. The usual Sydney Harbour clubs were represented including CYCA, RPAYC, RSYS plus teams from NCYC, SYC and MYC.

The RSYS teams consisted of Nick Rozenauers, Mitch Evans, Angus Olding, Zac Quinlan and Charlotte Griffin on one team, and Fergus Abbott, Charlotte Alexander, Ben Fraser and Alex Rozenauers on the other.

Due to the busy schedule for the regatta, only one round robin was completed, making every race count for all competitors. Nick and his crew were able to finish 3rd in the round robin and secured a place in the semi-finals against highest ranked James Hodgson (CYCA). Nick and his crew narrowly missed out on making the finals where it was 1-1 on the final downwind with a penalty to wipe. Nick managed to get into a good position where the other boat broke a rule so the penalties cancelled each other, yet James was able to drop his spinnaker earlier and crossed through the line first. James went on to win the regatta 2-0 against fellow CYCA team mate Tom Grimes. Nick and his crew then faced Hayden Brown (SYC) in the petit final and convincingly won 2-0 to secure 3rd overall.

Fergus and his crew finished tied 4th with four other teams, but on a very big count-back, sadly finished 8th. In the sail-offs for 7th and 8th Fergus and his team put up a good fight in very tough shifty westerly conditions against Thomas Steenson (NCYC) but unfortunately went down 1-2. 

The Squadron Development Program would like to thank the RSYS Foundation, General Committee and Sailing Office for their continued support, giving us the chance to compete against both local and interstate teams and ultimately become better sailors. Another big thank you to out coach Klade Hauschildt and the CYCA for hosting another great regatta.


Overall Results:

  1. James Hodgson (CYCA)
  2. Tom Grimes (CYCA)
  3. Nick Rozenauers (RSYS)
  4. Hayden Brown (SYC)
  5. James Farquharson (RPAYC)
  6. Sarah Parker (RPAYC)
  7. Thomas Steenson (NCYC)
  8. Fergus Abbott (RSYS)
  9. Taylor Rogers (MYC)
  10. Nick Anderson (RPAYC)

View full results here

By Angus Olding