Fun and success at Sail Sydney

The Squadron fielded 33 Youth and four Adult sailors at this year's Sail Sydney event hosted by Woolahra sailing Club from 12-15 December.

It was a great event for our young sailors.  They were treated to light and shifty winds for the first three days and finished off the event in a strong NE seabreeze.  Many of our more experienced competitors reached the podium of their respective classes, and there were some very pleasing performances from our newer Members.  Everyone had a terrific time over the four days of racing.

The Opti fleet was coached by each day by Charlotte Griffin and the Lasers had a varied coaching staff during the event led by Mike Leigh, Locky Pryor, Zac Quinlan and Oskar Hansen.

The event was held across 4 different courses.  The RSYS managed Course Area D with Ian Kingsford Smith as the Race Officer and assisted by Susan Wade, Bill Fleming, Kylie Wilson, Phil Maloney, Campbell McKay, Karyn Gojnich, Geoff Davidson and David Ritchard onboard the committee boats and safety boats.  The team worked long hours from 9-6pm most days and over the duration of the regatta ran over 30 races.

Sail Sydney began as a test event for the 2000 Olympics and has grown in recent years to become the dinghy event with the largest number of participants in the Southern hemisphere. Hundreds of competitors travelled to and across Australia to enjoy four days of high-class, adrenaline-filled racing for all dinghy classes.


Congratulations to our Squadron Youth sailors:

Int 420 
-    1st Jack Ferguson (crew)
-    4th Ryan Littlechild (helm)
-    7th Gretel Payne (crew)

Laser 4.7 - above
-    3rd Xavier McLachlan
-    5th Kane Sablatnig
-    9th Garth Bickford
-    10th Connor Warner
-    14th Thomas Whitehead
-    15th Oliver McLachlan
-    16th Ella Delaney
-    17th Hamish Crabb
-    19th Isobel Payne

Laser Radial - above
-    2nd Otto Henry (pictured above)
-    4th Mark Louis
-    5th Jack Littlechild
-    7th Zac West
-    8th Brooke Wilson (pictured top)
-    9th Daniel Costandi
-    11th Marlena Berzins
-    14th Evie Saunders
-    15th Mina Ferguson
-    24th Ian Louis
-    25th Annabelle Connery
-    27th Ashton Scott

Laser Standard
-    2nd Finn Alexander
-    9th Campbell Patton

Techno Plus
-    3rd Vaughan O’Shea (pictured below)

Optimist Intermediate
-    7th Ben Tattersall
-    8th Stirling McKay
-    10th Raphael McLachlan
-    12th TJ Ly
-    16th Viraj Gupta
-    17th Patrick McLachlan
-    18th Flynn Winton

Optimist Open
-    13th Spencer McKay
-    25th Benedict McKay
-    37th Harriet McLachlan


On-water photos by John West Photography

Others by Karyn Gojnich